Tuesday, September 10, 2013

SB 131 Passes Senate: ALL "Aye" Votes Are Democrats

On September 6, the California State Senate passed SB 131, which targets Churches and other non-profits, but exempts the public sector constituencies of the Democratic Party. We have posted on SB 131 before. The bill has the potential to bankrupt the Catholic Church in California, and has been opposed by legal experts and all sorts of nonprofit organizations.

Every single "Aye" vote was cast by a Democrat.

They were Senators Beall, Block, Corbett, De León, DeSaulnier, Evans, Hancock, Hernandez, Hill, Jackson, Lara, Leno, Liu, Monning, Padilla, Pavley, Roth, Steinberg, Torres, Wolk, and Yee.

Seven of the eight "No" votes were Republicans. They were: Senators Anderson-R, Berryhill-R, Gaines-R, Huff-R, Knight-R, Vidak-R, and Walters-R. Senator Ron Calderon, a Democrat, also voted "No."

Ten Senators did not vote.

The party of death. How any Catholic can still vote Democrat (confession: I was a registered Democrat until 1988) is a mystery to me.

All that is left is a veto of this unjust legislation by Governor Jerry Brown. Ask him to veto this bill!


No comments: