Friday, January 6, 2012

Holy Father Names 22 New Cardinals

They include Archbishop Dolan of New York, as well as Archbishop Edwin O'Brien, Pro Grand Master of the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem. 18 of the 22 will be able to vote in Conclave.

Vatican Radio has the story, and here is the full list, courtesy of Caltholic Culture:

1.Archbishop Santos Abril Y Castellò, the Archpriest of the Roman basilica of St. Mary Major;

2.Major Archbishop George Alencherry of Ernakulam-Angamaly, the leader of the Syro-Malabar Catholic Church;

3.Father Karl Becker, SJ, a former professor at the Pontifical Gregorian University and consultant to the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith;

4.Archbishop Giuseppe Bertelli, President of the Pontifical Commission for Vatican City State and President of the Governorate of the same State;

5.Archbishop Giuseppe Betori of Florence;

6.Archbishop João Braz de Aviz, prefect of the Congregation for Religious;

7.Archbishop Domenico Calcagno, president of the Administration of the Patrimony of the Apostolic See;

8.Archbishop Francesco Coccopalmerio, president of the Pontifical Council for Legislative Texts;

9.Archbishop Thomas Christopher Collins of Toronto;

10.Archbishop Timothy Michael Dolan of New York;

11.Archbishop Dominik Duka of Prague;

12.Archbishop Willem Jacobus Eijk of Utrecht;

13.Archbishop Fernando Filoni, the prefect of the Congregation for Evangelization;

14.Father Prospero Grech, OSA, a theology professor and to the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith;

15.Archbishop Manuel Monteiro de Castro, was named only yesterday as head of the Apostolic Penitentiary;

16.Major Archbishop Lucian Muresan of Fagaras and Alba Julia, the leader of the Romanian Catholic Church;

17.Archbishop Edwin O'Brien, Grand Master Knights of the Holy Sepulchre;

18.Father Julien Ries, for years a professor at the Catholic University of Louvain;

19.Archbishop John Tong Hon, Bishop of Hong Kong;

20.Archbishop Antonio Maria Veglio, the president of the Pontifical Council for Migrants;

21.Archbishop Giuseppe Versaldi, president of the Prefecture for Economic Affairs of the Holy See; and

22.Archbishop Rainer Maria Woelk of Berlin.

Lord, be with them!

No comments: